Meet the Board

Current Friends of Port Royal Cypress Wetlands Board of Directors

(left to right)  Mike Shay, Eileen Newton, Scot Clark, Alisa Avery, Megan Carew, Tamala Conner, & Jenn Clementoni

Friends of Port Royal Cypress Wetlands

The Friends of Port Royal Cypress Wetlands, Inc., a 501c3, was formed under the guidance of Pete Richards in October of 2019.  On February 28th of 2020 Pete died but his legacy lives on.  The Board of Directors are proudly continuing Pete’s vision of the “Wonderment of the Wetlands.”

Our mission is to support the cypress wetlands and rookery, increase community awareness through education, and advocate for maintaining this stormwater retention system as a working organic laboratory.

We hope you will join us in our quest to aid the Town of Port Royal in maintaining and educating, both young and old, about this unique and natural treasure.  Join us by donating here.

Original Board of Directors
Bernadette Clayton, Kathleen Bray, Pete Richards, Sally Jessee, Rob Merchant, Kate Hamilton Pardee

Check out this amazing interview that former board members, Betsy Richards, did with the Beaufort News talking about the history of the Friends of the Port Royal Cypress Wetlands and the things we do.  Great job Betsy!

Play Video

Board of Directors

Scot Clark


Jenn Clementoni

Vice President & Social Media

Megan Carew

Marketing Director

Tamala Conner

Director of Education

Eileen Newton


Alisa Avery

Secretary & Tour Director

Notable Friends

Dr. Chris Marsh

Former Board Member – Mike Shay

Former Board Member – Bernadette Clayton

Former Board Member – Lynn Day

Former Board Member – Kathleen Bray

Former Board Member – Vernon Peers

Former Board Member – Dan Frese

Former Board Member – Elizabeth “Betsy” Richards

Former Board Member – Kate Hamilton Pardee

Former Board Member – Nathan Sturre

Former Board Member – Sally Jessee

Robert Pruit